lead me LORD JESUS

Lead me to the rock
that is higher than I,

The Holy Bible: English Standard Version. (2001). (Ps 61:2b). Wheaton: Standard Bible Society.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=r2CpU39tM0c

I used to hide in the LORD for HE is my strong tower in times of fear but I’ve found these days, I’ve come out to play, the view is amazing,

The LORD has given me a word and a song and I’ll post some of the verses as well.

What a beautiful way to wake up every morning right, in song and WORD, Christ HIMSELF, Christ out LORD, JESUS JESUS JESUS.

Lead Me to the Rock
61 TO THE CHOIRMASTER: WITH STRINGED INSTRUMENTS. OF DAVID.

1 Hear my cry, O God,
listen to my prayer;
2 from the end of the earth I call to you
when my heart is faint.
Lead me to the rock
that is higher than I,
3 for you have been my refuge,
a strong tower against the enemy.

4 Let me dwell in your tent forever!
Let me take refuge under the shelter of your wings! Selah
5 For you, O God, have heard my vows;
you have given me the heritage of those who fear your name.

The Holy Bible: English Standard Version. (2001). (Ps 61:title–5). Wheaton: Standard Bible Society.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kV5iZBTNYrk

The word ‘lead’ speaks to my heart.

TWOT

  1341      נָחָה (nāḥâ) lead, guide. (ASV and RSV similar with the latter superior at I Sam 22:4, I Kgs 10:26 [both of which evidence a confusion of nāḥâ and nûaḥ; cf. ASV II Kgs 18:11), and inferior at Ps 67:4 [H 5].

Our root represents the conducting of one along the right path. For synonyms see nāhag. Our root occurs thirty-nine times.
The root is sometimes synonymous with nāhag “to herd” to a predetermined destination; e.g. lead away captive (Job 12:23), herd/lead a flock (Ps 78:53, 72). Elsewhere it is equal to nāhal “to lead/guide tenderly;” e.g. Ps 31:3 [H 4], to lead (nāḥâ), and tenderly lead/guide (nāhal) out of trouble (cf. Job 31:18).
God is often the one who “leads.” So, Abraham’s servant reported God as his “guider” (Gen 24:27). In the Exodus this guidance was manifested by the pillars of cloud and fire which preceeded (led) Israel (Ex 13:21). The Psalms frequently recall how God led his people along the right path and beseech him to do so again. This request is for far more than guidance. It is that God be before them showing the way of righteousness (Ps 5:8 [H 9]; 23:3). Moreover, the pious are to be led by God’s commandments (Prov 6:22) in conjunction with the integrity of his heart (Prov 11:3). The nations are obligated to worship God because he will judge and govern (i.e. graciously guide, Ps 67:4 [H 5]; cf. 31:3 [H 4]) in the messianic kingdom.
L.J.C.

נִחוּם (niḥûm). See no. 1344b.
נָחשׁ (nāḥš). See no. 1349b.
נָחִיר (nāḥîr). See no. 1346c.

 (R. L. Harris, G. L. Archer Jr., & B. K. Waltke,)  נָחָה. Coppes, L. J. (1999). 1341 Eds.) Theological Wordbook of the Old Testament. Chicago: Moody Press.

Psalm 61:2c–3

In his prayer for protection the psalmist asks God to take him to the rock that is higher than I; the Hebrew may mean “a rock too high for me (to climb by myself)”; NJV translates “a rock that is high above me.” The figure is a bit strange but its sense seems clear enough: it is a figure of security and safety (see the use of “rock” in 27:5d and discussion). Some translate “Place me safely on a high rock” (SPCL) or “lift me up and set me upon a rock” (NEB, which changes one letter and uses a different word division in the Masoretic text). FRCL and NJB think that it refers to the Temple. TEV “safe refuge” in some languages can be rendered “the place where I am safe” or “the place where you protect me.”
God is the psalmist’s refuge (see comments on 14:6 and 46:1), his strong tower. A tower (see in 48:12 the towers of Jerusalem), a place which offered protection against the enemy’s attack (see the tower at Thebez, in Judges 9:50–57). If tower is unknown, a local substitute may be suitable and may be used as a simile; for example, “you are like a strong wall protecting me from my enemies.”

Bratcher, R. G., & Reyburn, W. D. (1991). A translator’s handbook on the book of Psalms (p. 538). New York: United Bible Societies.

5  For he will hide me in his shelter
in the day of trouble;
he will conceal me under the cover of his tent;
he will qlift me high upon a rock.

The Holy Bible: English Standard Version. (2001). (Ps 27:5). Wheaton: Standard Bible Society.

Psalm 27:5–6

The psalmist expresses his confidence in Yahweh’s ability to protect him in the Temple from danger; his shelter in verse 5a and his tent in verse 5c refer to the Temple as a refuge.
In verse 5d set me high upon a rock is a figure also of safety, a high place above and beyond the attacks of the enemy. If the literal “high rock” is misunderstood, the meaning may be represented by “and make me secure in a safe place.” There are some areas of the world where it will be difficult for people to imagine being secure on a high rock, particularly where such rocks do not exist. In such cases it is recommended that the translator shift to “safe place,” or else use a figure for safety that all will recognize.
In verse 6a “to have the head lifted up above the enemies” is a figure of triumph. My head shall be lifted up, if used in this form, may create serious ambiguities. However, “triumph” is sometimes spoken of as “standing on the heads of one’s enemies.”
In gratitude for Yahweh’s protection the psalmist promises to offer sacrifices in his Temple and to make melody to the Lord in public worship. see 4:5 for a discussion of sacrifices. Offer sacrifices is sometimes translated “I will burn gifts and worship God.” Line 6c may sometimes be rendered “I will sing songs and say the Lord is great.”
The vow or promise of the psalmist, I will sing … to the Lord, is characteristic of the closure pattern and may suggest for translators that a second heading is appropriate before verse 7. For example, “The psalmist asks the Lord to take care of him.”

Bratcher, R. G., & Reyburn, W. D. (1991). A translator’s handbook on the book of Psalms (pp. 264–265). New York: United Bible Societies.

Psalm 61 A Song of Trust
Many seek sanctuary from the weariness and struggles of life. But that asylum is found only in the Rock that is higher and stronger than any human (61:2). The prayer for the king to have an eternal reign (61:6–7) is fulfilled perfectly in the Son of David, Christ.

Dockery, D. S., Butler, T. C., Church, C. L., Scott, L. L., Ellis Smith, M. A., White, J. E., & Holman Bible Publishers (Nashville, T. . (1992). Holman Bible Handbook (p. 339). Nashville, TN: Holman Bible Publishers.

ROCK

TWOT

1901 צור (ṣwr) V. Assumed root of the following.

1901a צוּר (ṣûr) rock. (ASV and RSV same.)
ṣûRr appears about seventy-five times. Rock stands for boulders or formations of stone and for the material which composes mountains (Job 14:18 rock parallel to mountain). Rock may serve as a toponym, e.g. Wildgoats’ Rocks (I Sam 24:2 [H 3]; cf. Jud 7:25; II Sam 2:16). The rock may house pleasant surprises for man such as wild honey (Ps 81:16 [H 17]) and precious jewels (Job 28:10). Rocks provide refuge, but in the day of judgment people will unsuccessfully seek refuge in the caves of the rocks (Isa 2:19ff’.). Men engraved into various rock formations pictures and writing pertaining to all aspects of his life. Such writing in stone remains forever (Job 19:24).
Rock, by reason of its magnificence and hardness, affords many metaphorical uses. People who confidently occupy their habitation so that an enemy cannot defeat them are referred to as a rock (Jer 21:13). The gods of the nations are called a rock (Deut 32:31, 37); to them are attributed qualities of strength and reliability. Perhaps the Scripture in some places is playing on the fact that some of these idols were only statues hewn from stone. Wayward Israel went so far as to claim that a stone (ʾeben) gave her birth (Jer 2:27).
Albright, who prefers the translation “mountain,” claims that ṣûr was a common name for deities in Syria and Anatolia and is an old appellation (AYGC pp. 24, 188f.). He rightly adds that these appellations were used by the Israelites with no borrowing of the heathen deities to whom the words were applied by the surrounding nations.
Yahweh himself is many times called a Rock; I Sam 2:2 says, “There is no rock like our God.” Yahweh is a Rock, not in being represented as an idol carved from stone, but in that he is totally reliable. He is a sure source of strength and he endures throughout every generation. There is no unrighteousness found in him; he is completely upright (Deut 32:4; Ps 92:15 [H 16]). God is a Rock of salvation (Deut 32:15; Ps 89:26 [H 27]). He is a strong refuge in which his people may take shelter from any difficulty (cf. Ps 94:22). In distress the psalmists cry out to Yahweh so that they may experience the security of his steadfast endurance (Ps 27:5; 28:1). ṣûr thus appears in theophoric names: Zuriel (Num 3:35, “my Rock is El”); Zurishaddai (Num 1:6, “my Rock is Shaddai”). The man who relies on God as his Rock will not be greatly moved (Ps 62:2, 6, 7 [H 3, 7, 8]). When Israel strays, Isaiah exhorts them to “look to the Rock from which you were hewn” (Isa 51:1). Perhaps he is alluding to Deut 32:4. Yahweh gave birth to Israel through Abraham’s faith in him. Isaiah encourages the people to trust in Yahweh; as a result they shall have perfect peace (Isa 26:4f.). The quality of strength connoted by “rock” applies not only to defense but also to aggressive leadership in battle (Ps 18:31–48 [H 32–49]; 144:1). The quality of authentic endurance assures Habakkuk that Yahweh will bring the wicked to judgment (Hab 1:12). Yahweh’s ability to protect and to help his people as a Rock sets him apart as the only true Rock (II Sam 22:32; Isa 44:8).
The coming Messiah is called “a rock of stumbling” (Isa 8:14). He cannot be ignored; all who come into contact with him are made aware of their sin and misunderstanding about God’s way of providing salvation. Some stumble and are broken to repentance; others fall and are crushed by the rock itself (cf. Mt 21:42ff.; Rom 9:32f.; I Pet 2:8).
In the desert Moses struck the rock and water came forth to quench the people’s thirst (Ex 17:6; Deut 8:15; Ps 78:15, 20; 105:41; 114:8; Isa 48:21). Paul identifies this rock typically with Jesus (I Cor 10:4).

Bibliography: Boston, James R., The Song of Moses; Deut 32:1–43, Ann Arbor, University Microfilms, 1967. THAT, II, pp. 538–42.
J.E.H.

צַוְוָרוֹן (ṣawwārôn). See no. 1897b.
צַח (ṣaḥ). See no. 1903a.

Hartley, J. E. (1999). 1901 צור. (R. L. Harris, G. L. Archer Jr., & B. K. Waltke, Eds.)Theological Wordbook of the Old Testament. Chicago: Moody Press.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=K-0EgzOWkvc

16  But he would feed you with the finest of the wheat,
and with honey from the rock I would satisfy you.”

The Holy Bible: English Standard Version. (2001). (Ps 81:16). Wheaton: Standard Bible Society.

10  He cuts out channels in the rocks,
and his eye sees every precious thing.

The Holy Bible: English Standard Version. (2001). (Job 28:10). Wheaton: Standard Bible Society.

24  Oh that with an iron pen and lead
they were engraved in the rock forever!

The Holy Bible: English Standard Version. (2001). (Job 19:24). Wheaton: Standard Bible Society.

 

4 thoughts on “lead me LORD JESUS

  1. Hello, it is me, this person who leaves you long comments. 🙂 I know we don’t know each other and probably won’t ever meet in person, but I was wondering, would you like to be pen pal friends? I relate deeply to so much of what you share on your blog and for three years, I have not met a single other person who talks about Jesus the way that you do, or who sees Him and spends time with Him.

    I learn a great deal from others in their walk with Jesus, each in their own way, and I am grateful for the friends that I have in person, but it is a very special thing to see Jesus in the Spirit. My uncle and my mother both have had visions, and I have had many wonderful times of sharing with them. I share many of my experiences with Jesus on my blog, because He asked me to share them, but I am always looking for a friend who can relate to this way of knowing Jesus, and with whom I can talk freely about my life in the Spirit with Jesus and I have not found one until I found your blog. I have found many who love Him with all their heart and who have wonderful lessons and insights to share and I am grateful to learn from them, but you are the only fellow blogger that actually talks about seeing into the spiritual realm.

    We have many things in common. I also was raised in a small place and had a very sheltered up bringing. I also fell in love with Jesus at a young age, when I was eleven or twelve. I have had several intense spiritual experiences that helped guide me through the rough years of my life, but lately, my relationship with Jesus has gone far beyond anything I ever could have dreamed of, before.

    I asked Jesus once if there were people who knew Him the way He was showing Himself to me and Jesus said that there were, but they were mostly people like myself who were living quiet, ordinary lives on the outside, hidden from the hustle and bustle of the outside world, from the mainstream of society.

    I know it must be strange to have a person you do not know suddenly appear on your blog and ask to be pen pals, but I assure you, I am an ordinary person. 🙂 I am quiet and shy by nature. I enjoy being at home, reading and writing. I like to walk in the park. I used to walk by myself, but now I take my daughter in her stroller.

    I have so much that I would like to talk to you about. I will put the link to my blog, in case you would like to get to know me there, but I have the comments closed on it.

    My e-mail address is indiana.girl@live.com.

    I hope to get to know you better! And in any case, I am very glad to know you through your blog. 🙂

    Yours,
    Jenny

  2. Hi Jenny,

    Sure. I’ll be your pen pal. I’ve know people personally who see JESUS.

    We are called seers. We see into the spiritual realm. We hear God’s voice daily, all day, all the time. HE speaks non stop. HE shares HIMSELF with us. In visions and dreams and literally as we see, we see. Christ JESUS our LORD.

    We are not that many but increasing. It’s a calling. I suppose from a very young age.

    I went back and noticed at aged five I was already using my gifting.

    I’ll write to you and send you information about others who are like us. It helps a lot to connect as it’s not good to be separated from others like us all around the world.

    When seers connect, one seer will see one thing and the other another and so on and so forth. The picture, ie, the vision connects into one big picture and it’s awesome. It’s like connecting a puzzle.

    It’s very important Jenny that you are very loved and special in the eyes of the LORD and chosen to reveal HIM to this generation and the next and the next and the next. Hold on to Christ JESUS our LORD and write write down. Journal what you see and hear daily.

    Seers are vital in the big picture of what the LORD is doing in these last days before HIS second coming.

    Seers are rarely lonesome as we play with God all the time. We are so connected that it seems God is our imaginary Friend.

    🙂

    Sure, I would love to hear about your adventures with the LORD and how far you have got.

    I’ll send you my e-mail so you can share your adventures.

    Blessings,

    kazz

  3. I was so thrilled to hear this from you that I have already written you a long e-mail! 🙂 I look forward to being pen pals with you and growing in my understanding of Jesus. Already, just from reading your blog, I have learned more and understood more. It is like filling in some missing pieces, just as you say.

  4. Hi Jenny,

    I just sent you my e-mail address so you can write. It’s better to chat in our
    Wordpress so everyone can learn from communicative skills. It is vital in these last days everyone gets to learn about what the LORD is doing in our lives.

    🙂

    Glad you’ve connected.

    I have posted a lot of sites that have helped me in my walk with the LORD. They are very nice Christians who are like us.

    It’s good to open up and share with the world to change the world ….. all things are possible with God. Nothing is impossible and it’s good not to put God in a box. It is also good not to shut ourselves in a box. But break out.

    Stand on the ROCK of our Salvation and cry out to our ABBA Father, Christ our LORD and the Holy Spirit.

    Stand firm.

    🙂

    Blessings,

    kazzz

Leave a Reply

