Honor Thy Father And Thy Mother


English Standard Version
“Honor your father and your mother, that your days may be long in the land that the LORD your God is giving you.

image

It has been particularly hard the last four months or five. I cannot remember. Now my mother-in-law has gone to Jesus. When we got the call last week when she was so unwell, I prayed Jesus take her hand and lead her into His kingdom. Her children are terribly sad. We too are sad. She taught me a lot about keeping a home and being calm through the storms. She was a lady of peace. Before we returned after my father-in-law’s funeral, we were sitting in a care home with her and her sister said something. She just looked and said, ‘Well, I’ll just sit here and mind my own business.’ It is really very sad to end a twenty year love story with a father and a mother to us. To top it all we were mentioned in the newspaper as her step-children. You truly reap what you sow. If you sow love, you reap love. I was so touched by my family when they decided to remember us as their family though their hearts were breaking. Sarah who was brought up by my in-laws must be so heart-broken. The thing is, I can see their faces and know exactly how they are feeling right at this moment. The void, especially for Jennifer who goes to see her mother all the time with Josh. My husband often says, ‘What are you doing?’ ‘Crying,’ is my reply. His face is very drawn today. Not his usual self. The same minister is going to read God’s word in the funeral. 

holleygerth.com

One thought on “Honor Thy Father And Thy Mother

  1. Sorry for your loss. May God encamp you with His Angels and bring Disciples to comfort you and your loved ones in Jesus Name, Amen.

Leave a Reply

