I Love My Grandson

1918537_383927188526_7564285_n

My first grandson is right up there. He is a bowler just like me. He’s the real deal. I gathered some kids together and started a bowling team and this one Open Championship, he was assigned to an Asian Games Gold Medalist male bowler. He was nine. It was a singles and they each were assigned to a lane each. When I saw the bowler, I did not coach my grandson. I told him to stand back  behind the scoring machine and hang there until the champion walked back. Then to get on with it. I told him who he was and he looked at me and said, ‘Then I’ve got to beat him. I’ve got to win.’ 

And I just let him learn the rhythm of the game at world class level. He was nine and bowled a 168 but the rhythm was not foreign to the champion and he bowled a blistering 268. All coaches just stood back and watched. hahahahahahahaha Our American National Coach advised me not to burn him out. My grandson this is. So, the champion was comfortable and so was my grandson. The Congress always gave my bowlers a chance to match with champions. 

I gathered a group together for my grandson so he could learn the technique of the game with others. A group. They got on well. Open championships yearly. hahahahahahahahaha 

We have talents that define our character. Over the years of travelling the world with my team and the nations, we all got on. I learnt the culture of the island I live in and the people and love them. If I share pictures of me, I’m hugging all of them. They felt loved and in return they accepted me as their friend. When we work in a team sometimes you win or lose. The thing is, you can depend on your team to bring back the medals when you fail. We are all responsible adults. 

When I was in this one tournament with twelve nations. Just a male and female from each nation. We did everything together as the sponsor paid for it all. As it was my birthday they arranged for a dinner and asked me my favourite food. I just said anything would be cool. Unfortunately they really did have me in mind as I had just won that late afternoon on national television. They had this most expensive spread of Japanese food. Much to my horror. When the others arrived as most of them were from Europe and the Americas, their face fell. hahahahahahahaha They looked at me. ‘Is this your idea of a joke!!! After today!!!’ To which I replied, ‘I’m innocent. They chose the food. I just assumed they would realize that you all don’t eat asian food.’ We are talking a lot of money here. It was expensive.  So this one lady who was second came up to me and asked me why I never looked at her at the finals. I never said a word. She was so upset. ‘We dance in the evenings. All of us together. We eat and chat and laugh but right when it mattered to me most, you never looked at me.’ I did not reply. Instructions. My coach taught me to win I was never to look at my opponent otherwise my heart would soften and I would not have the fight to win. hahahahahahahaha Hey, it works. I never saw her again actually. She was only twenty-one. So young. What a pity. But the sixteen year old, she is my friend. Before I quit the game, in one tournament, she had pulled her two fingers and had tendinitis. Ouch. Super ouch. But she used her fingers. Hey, my coach taught me not to use my fingers if they hurt or it suited the conditions. She bowled three 250 games back to back. When we had finished, I went up to her and looked at her fingers. ‘You are hurting so bad, Tomomi. Why did you do it? Why did you use your fingers?’ She could hardly say a word. She just smiled her sweet smile. Her fingers were killing her. Why did she use her fingers. She may never recover again. Sometimes, you just gotta say, ‘Hey, it really hurts. Really. I cannot go on.’ Much to the horror of my team when I’m the only one in the Masters cos I always qualify if not the first set, the second. And just sit it out. The pain on the thumb is just too much. You gotta get real when it hurts and say the ‘no’ word and not budge not matter what. 

We all got along and managed to love one another across borders that separated nations across the world. Our countries’s flags hung high. We were ambassadors for our countries. You’d be most surprised who turns up in a national. Next time. 

❤ ❤ ❤

Leave a Reply

