A Clear Conscience

Hebrews 10:21-23 (ESV)
 
21 and since we have a great priest over the house of God, 22 let us draw near with a true heart in full assurance of faith, with our hearts sprinkled clean from an evil conscience and our bodies washed with pure water. 23 Let us hold fast the confession of our hope without wavering, for he who promised is faithful.

Hebrews 10:21

A great priest (ἱερεα μεγαν [hierea megan]). As has been shown in 4:14–7:28. Over the house of God (ἐπι τον οἰκον του θεου [epi ton oikon tou theou]). As God’s Son (3:5f.).

Hebrews 10:22

Let us draw near (προσερχωμεθα [proserchōmetha]). Present middle volitive subjunctive as in 4:16 with which exhortation the discussion began. There are three exhortations in verses 22 to 25 (Let us draw near, προσερχωμεθα [proserchōmetha], let us hold fast, κατεχωμεν [katechōmen], let us consider one another, κατανοωμεν ἀλληλους [katanoōmen allēlous]). Four items are added to this first exhortation. With a true heart (μετα ἀληθινης καρδιας [meta alēthinēs kardias]). With loyalty and fealty. In fulness of faith (ἐν πληροφοριᾳ πιστεως [en plērophoriāi pisteōs]). See 6:11 for this very phrase. Having our hearts sprinkled from an evil conscience (ρεραντισμενοι τας καρδιας ἀπο συνειδησεως πονηρας [rerantismenoi tas kardias apo suneidēseōs ponēras]). Perfect passive participle of ραντιζω [rantizō] with the accusative retained in the passive, an evident allusion to the sprinkling of blood in the old tabernacle (9:18–22) and the shedding of Christ’s blood for the cleansing of our consciences (10:1–4). Cf. 1 Peter 1:2 for “the sprinkling of the blood of Jesus Christ.” Our body washed with pure water (λελουσμενοι το σωμα ὑδατι καθαρῳ [lelousmenoi to sōma hudati katharōi]). Perfect passive (or middle) of λουω [louō], old verb to bathe, to wash. Accusative also retained if passive. ὑδατι [Hudati] can be either locative (in) or instrumental (with). See Eph. 5:26 and Titus 3:5 for the use of λουτρον [loutron]. If the reference here is to baptism (quite doubtful), the meaning is a symbol (Dods) of the previous cleansing by the blood of Christ.

Robertson, A. T. (1933). Word Pictures in the New Testament (Heb 10:21–22). Nashville, TN: Broadman Press.

I awoke to this song with the heavens singing to me and then the verse. How content one can live happily in this place where a conscience is clear. I’ve been in this place since childhood. Ever since I can remember knowing God. God my Father. It’s a passive place here. And I love this commentary. Cool. 

peace

I’m aggressively bold in the Spirit. When I was little I was taught to look for God no matter what and pay no attention to anyone else. Think in my old age now, this is so apparent I had done what I was taught as a child, and never stopped. I was told not to worry about what anyone else thought nor what was happening around me but to just totally find God in every nook and corner until I found Him. Big job for a little girl then right. But look where it got me. I’m kissing the lips of Jesus. And you know what, I do not care what anybody thinks as they are not in this place so how could they ever understand from my point of view.  Aaaaaaaaa the freshly squeezed sweet orange juice is delicious. 

Peace

child_drinking_straw_uniflow

I truly do not understand it at all. Not at all. I’ve done so much since I was little and achieved so much since then. In Christ and in my sport. At least in my sport I’m recognized as giving all to my country. But what I have done in Christ is far greater. Every part I have been a part of I have taken the land for Christ. In every area. Not just where I am standing but out to all the nations of the world. I have climbed so deep and high and wide and in Christ I have just stood as in Ephesians 6 in the full armor of God and HE did it all. Yet, it ain’t enough. Can you imagine this! Not enough. Not good enough. I even have the most difficult one at hand. Self control. And it’s not good enough. The words of our bible teacher, Lee rings through and through and through. Righteousness and justice are the foundations of His throne.

maxresdefault

Sometimes, you just got to hold on to a verse and say to yourself. Hey, the verse, the assurance of who God is, is good  enough for me. Just good enough. God is good enough. For after all, I’m doing my essays on relativism and pluralism and the ever changing societies. Now, our God is absolute. Anyone who does bible study knows this about the nature of God. His immutable character. HE says I’m good enough as I’m fearfully and wonderfully made. I am being fashioned by His own very hands. The hands of the living God. The great I Am. So there, sometimes, just sometimes, you just got to hold on to the word and say, I’m good enough. Just good enough for You LORD Jesus as in this world, they will always say, you ain’t good enough. 

LiveTheFruit-051413

Psalm 89:13-18

13You have a mighty arm;
strong is your hand, high your right hand.
14Righteousness and justice are the foundation of your throne;
steadfast love and faithfulness go before you.
15Blessed are the people who know the festal shout,
who walk, O LORD, in the light of your face,
16who exult in your name all the day
and in your righteousness are exalted.
17For you are the glory of their strength;
by your favor our horn is exalted.
18For our shield belongs to the LORD,
our king to the Holy One of Israel.

Leave a Reply

